Driver Education Requirements (Under 18 Years Old)

Each student must take a 30-hour driver education class. By state law, students are NOT allowed to miss class instruction except for good cause as determined by the instructor (may include a death in the family or an injury), and there must be written documentation to support this. No more than four hours of classroom instruction may be missed or they will be removed from the class and no refund will be given. The class time cannot be made up, but the student will have to make up any quiz or test missed and will be given an assignment equivalent to the material missed in class. If more than four hours or two classes are missed, the student cannot continue the course and will be documented as "incomplete" on our state paperwork. They will have six months to complete driver ed or will have to take the entire class over. 

Vermont Behind-the-Wheel Requirements

  • Minimum of 6 hours of in-car driving lessons
  • Minimum of 6 hours of in-car observation

All students must complete their State's required Supervised Driving Log. The log can be found in the Parents Supervised Driving Program located on the right and printed out to use, or learners may choose the digital ReadReady app to track their hours. Both States require 40 hours of practice, at least 10 of which must be at night.

Vermont Students must have a Vermont Learner's Permit in thier possession to legally practice driving if accommpaied by a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is at least 25 years of age.

Vermont Junior Operator License Requirments

  • Be 16 years of age.
  • Complete an approved driver education class and a 40-hour driving log.
  • Receive no moving traffic violations.
  • Have had your Learners Permit for one year.
  • Pass a driving skills test with a third-party or Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles examiner.